Skip to content

Crystal distractions.

July 26, 2011

July has always been a month of transition for the last 8 or so year. When i was at University, it signalled the end of the academic year and the start of the Holiday. Even know in my professional life, July also signals the end of the “medical” year. Come August,doctors all over the U.K change jobs and move one step further in their training.

This July I’ve been working on new ideas and innovation for The Colour Couture brand. I’ve started working on my  Spring/Summer 2012 collection.  Yes you read right; the spring/summer 2012 collection! I initially  started working on the Autumn/Winter collection but i kept getting distracted by   pack of multi-coloured Swarovski crystals  sitting on my workshop desk.   They were just so sparkly and gorgeous i had to tip them out of the bag into my beading board.I was inspired by the book  I’m studying. It’s  all about use of colour in jewellery design. I think what I’ve learnt so far really helped in arranging the colour sequence.

Using a bead board makes things so much easier. I pick the coloured crystals from the central hole with my tweezers and arrange them on the bead board with in the order i want.

After stringing the crystals on a piece of beading thread, i attached the two stands to a silver ring. I finish the necklace with black satin ribbon. If you look at the bead boar you'll se I've already started on the second piece!

Sneak preview of the finished necklace.

I’m quite pleased with the results. I hope I get more flashed of inspiration when I’m designing the winter collections. Enjoy the rest of your week, see you soon x

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Kemi permalink
    July 26, 2011 9:56 pm

    That looks lovely……… Well done

  2. July 27, 2011 9:17 am

    Didn’t realise you were into jewelry. Cute necklace, its amazing what you can do with a few crystals and ribbon. Reading up on the art of colour in jewelry making as well, going to hold off on making anything though….would bookmark your blog. Would luv you to visit mine: http://www.etransformed.wordpress.com
    Cheers

    • July 27, 2011 9:27 am

      Wow, I didn’t know you were also into jewellery, I will definitely bookmark you blog as well. Thanks for stopping by

  3. July 29, 2011 4:57 pm

    beautiful

    http://www.shadders,net

Leave a Reply

