Skip to content

Gemstone of the Week: Sodalite

April 15, 2011

Sodalite got its name from its high sodium content. Most commonly a deep royal blue colour, various other colours such as grey, yellow, green, or pink also exist.

Sodalite was first discovered in Greenland, it can also be found in places such as Canada, United stated of America, Portugal, Romania and Brazil.  Its beautiful blue colour lends its self well to creating ornament, it is also used in creating jewellery.

I finally created something  with a string of Sodalite  I’ve had for quite a long time.  When shopping for beads, I try to buy beads that are distinct and different. When I’m designing, I lay all my beads out and  start creating a design on my bead boar. I’ve tried incorporating the sodalite nuggets i had into a few designs but it never really worked out.

Misty Blue: Sodalite and Cat's eye beads necklace. See more of our collection on the website or email us:thecolourcouture@yahoo.co.uk

A while back I found some left over cat eye beads (the blue shiny beads). I put the two beads my bead board and started designing, two  hours later……my work was finished. I was quite pleased with results. I thing the different shade of blue really complemented each other.  What do you thing ?

Did you know we are also on face book? Well know you know, do join our group page, let us know what you think about our jewellery, or just drop a note and say hi!

And we are on twitter too, add  us @dColourCouture to your twitter followers, we promise to follow right back 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2011 4:03 am

    It’s beautiful. Check out that blue!!

  2. July 18, 2011 8:57 pm

    I totaly agree…That blue is fantastic..wish it was mine :0)

Leave a Reply

