Skip to content

As sweet as…lampwork beads

March 8, 2011

Just when I thought the worst of winter was over,  I spent the better part of a rare weekend off lying in bed with the flu. To make matters worse I’ve got a  horrible tooth ache.  I think a visit to the dentist is due 😦

I blame it on my sweet tooth. Stuff like this…

Or this….

 

 

and these….

….. do not do my teeth any favours.  I’ve also developed a sweet tooth for lampwork beads.  Lampwork beads are hand-made from glass rods. I’ve seen a demonstration of these beads being made and I was enthralled.  The glass rods are melted using  heat and wrapped around a mandrel ( a metal pole) to form the bead. There are various techniques that can be used to create lovely designs.

Here are a couple of beads I’ve got my eye on

 

The designer named these beads:Midnight Sky Tabs. I love the blue colour of these beads

 

The designer named this bead:Ghostly Groove focal bead. It reminds me of a bee hive, a very colourful one

 

Remind me of the seaside on a glorious summer day

 

I’ve only recently started working with Lampwork beads and the response has been great. Here are a few of my lampwork creations.

 

 

Lampwork bead pendants on a lace ribbon chain. (Available for purchase: Contact thecolourcouture@yahoo.co.uk for more details)

Lampwork bead pendants on a lace ribbon chain. (Available for purchase: Contact thecolourcouture@yahoo.co.uk for more details)

 

I’ll  trying to cut down on sweet things to save my teeth but I intend to indulge in my love for lampwork beads!

Have a great week!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2011 7:54 pm

    Ooooh, these look weird and lovely lol. LMAO at the sweet tooth. Don’t you think you’re tempting yourself with these yummy pictures? lol. Sorry about your tooth oh – so horrible i know

  2. March 13, 2011 5:19 pm

    I love the look of the lampwork beads. The beehive one is so lovely!

Leave a Reply

