Skip to content

Gemstone of the week: Jade

February 17, 2011

My visit to New Zealand is high  up on the list of my most exciting holidays.   The sights and sounds were absolutely beautiful. I was very intrigued about the maori culture; they have a very rich heritage.  I noticed many of the Maoris I saw wearing beautiful green stone: New Zealand Jade.  The carvings and shape have spiritual significance  and the origins can be traced back many centuries. In times past, jade was used to create weapon and tools and also to create prized ornaments, often handed down from generations to generations.

I love the deep green of Jade. I remember seeing some beautiful bracelets, but sadly I could not afford them on my student budget. Next time, I will definitely be getting myself some jade jewellery.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2011 2:46 pm

    You’re definitely on a travel roll ma’am.. New Zealand? Nice one.. Beautiful green too though..

  2. February 18, 2011 9:38 am

    I think of China when i think of Jade- don’t know why though. But yeah, that green is lovely!!

    Adiya

    • February 19, 2011 11:45 am

      China Jade is the most widely known type. I like the New zealand type because its has a deeper green colour

  3. February 21, 2011 2:21 pm

    And P.S. i just featured the fab Colour Couture on my blog like i asked. Hope you don’t mind 😀

    xoxo
    Adiya
    http://thecornershopng.blogspot.com/2011/02/burst-of-colour-from-colour-couture.html

Leave a Reply

